A while back, I clicked on the links to my site at worldwithoutparasites.com and saw
a weird disclaimer, a warning that my site may be unsafe or some-such nonsense.
I didn't think much about it, I thought it was a Firefox pop-up or something like that.
Firefox tries to block me from half the sites I visit. If I had looked closer, I would have
noticed the misspelling and the overall amateurishness:
"DO YOU HAVE A *POP-UP* BLOCKER PROGRAM RUNNING? If so, this must be turned
off to continue ... You are about to open a new window that will take you to
another website. We can neither guarantee nor endorse any products, offers,
or content found on the website you are about is visit. Continue?"
"We can neither guarantee nor endorse any products, offers,
or content found on the website you are about is visit."
Ouch!
"... is visit"?
Oh my!
http://www.worldwithoutparasites.co...d_products.html (scroll down)
Was this done by Don's webmaster or was it snuck-in by a dorksider? I'd like to know. It feels
downright vicious to me.
Zoe and I are are re-building CTBusters because we failed a security scan by Security Metrics
a couple weeks ago. It was caused by the old software that ran my blog, it has been
superseded by improved-security software and was no longer approved by the security
experts. To quickly get my site back in compliance, we ditched the entire homepage to
get rid of the blog. That's why my homepage disappeared recently and why there's a
new one now. See my new rant-filled blog and everything else CTBuster, here, same
address, new look:
http://www.ctbusters.com/
Back to the nasty disclaimer on Don's site. I have received many complaints from people
saying they didn't go to my site because there was a security warning. I thought they
were victims of too-high settings on their computers, no! They were mislead by that
darn disclaimer on Don's site! Don was not aware of it, he doesn't know who did it.
I don't want my customer's scared-off by faulty, totally incorrect and misleading disclaimers.
Come on. Zoe and I expend a lot of time and money to be sure my site is as safe as possible.
I wonder how many sales I lost due to that? The mind boggles.
Don has assured me this will be corrected by his guy, Chris.
Warning!!!!!! CTBusters is safe and secure, always was, always will be.
Cheers,
Andy










